20 ways to say I LOVE YOU

Learn how to say the magical phrase in 20 African languages!

The 11 official South African languages:

1.    English - I love you
2.    Afrikaans - Ek is lief vir jou
3.    Sepedi - Ke a go rata
4.    IsiNdebele - Niyakutanda
5.    IsiXhosa - Ndiyakuthanda
6.    IsiZulu - Ngiyakuthanda
7.    Sesotho - Ke a go rata
8.    SiSwati - Ngiyakutsandza
9.    Tshivenda - Ngiyakutsandza/ Ndi a ni funa
10.   Xitsonga – Ndzakurhandza
11.   Setswana - Ke a go rata

Other African languages:

12.    Bemba – Ndikufuna
Spoken in Zambia, Tanzania, Botswana and DRC

13.    Ewe – Me lonwo
spoken in Togo, Ghana and Benin

14.    Kamba – Ningwemdete
Spoken in Kenya

15.    Malinki –Ni bi fe
Spoken in Gambia

16.    Luo –Aheri
Spoken in  Kenya and Tanzania

17.    Portuguese – Amo te
Spoken in Angola, Mozambique, Sao Tome, Cape Verde

18.    Shona – Ndinokuda!
Spoken in Zimbambwe and Zambia

19.    Punu – Ni u rondi
Spoken in Gabon

20.    Malagasy – Tiako ianao
Spoken in Madagascar

What other languages can you  say ‘I love you’? Drop us a comment in the box below.

- Women24


Read Women24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.